India’s Freedom Struggle from 1930 to 1947 Important Years

Freedom Struggle from 1930 to 1947

  • 1930, January 1st – Jawaharlal Nehru Hoists the tricolor of Indian Independence on the banks of the Ravi at Lahore.
  • 1930, January 26th – First Independence day observed.
  • 1930, February 14th – The working committee of the INC met at Sabarmati and passes the civil disobedience resolution.
  • 1930, March 12th – Mahatma Gandhi Launched the Civil Disobedience Movement with his epic Dandi March.
  • 1930, November 30 – First Round Table Conference started in London for consideration of Simon report.
  • 1931, Mar 5 – Gandhi signed on Irwin Pact and Civil Disobedience movement Suspended.
  • 1931, March 23 – Bhagat Singh,Sukh Dev and Rajgug executed.
  • 1931, September 7 – Second Round Table Conference.
  • 1931, December 28th – Gandhiji returned from London after the deadlock in Lind RTC.
  • 1932, January 4th – Gandhiji arrested and Imprisoned without trial.
  • 1932, August 16th – British Prime Minister Ramsay Macdonald announced the infamous “Communal Award”.
  • 1932, September 20th – Gandhiji in jail,did fast against the Communal Award and stopped his fast on September 26 after the Poona Pact.
  • 1932, November 17th – The third Round Table Conference beginning in London.
  • 1933, May 9th – Gandhiji released from prison as he beginning fast for self-purification.
  • 1934 – Gandhiji withdrew from active politics.
  • 1935, August 4th – The Government of India Act,1935 Passed.
  • 1937 – Elections held in India under the Act of 1935.
  • 1939 – Subhas Candra Bose resigns as the president of the Indian National Congress.
  • 1940, March – Lahore Session of the Muslim League passes the Pakistan Resolution.
  • 1940, October 17th – Congress Launched individual Satyagraha Movement.
  • 1941, January 17th – Subhas Chandra Bose escaped from India
  • 1942, August 11 – Quit India Movement started.
  • 1942, September 1st – Subhas Chandra Bose established the Indian National Army.
  • 1943, December – Karachi session of the Muslim League adopted the slogan Divide and Quit.
  • 1946, July 6th – Jawaharlal Nehru Taken charge as Congres President.
  • 1947, February 20th – British Prime Minister Attlee declared that the British government would leave India not later than June 1948.
  • 1947, March 24 – Lord Mountbatten, the last British Viceroy, and Government-General of India, sworn in March  24, 1947, to June 21, 1948.
  • 1947, June 3rd – Mountbatten Plan for the Partition of India and the announcement on June 4th that transfer of power will take place on August 15th.
  • 1947, August 15th – India became an Independent Country.

Also, read

Indias look at what happened in 1905 to 1930

Share on:

Ours is a youth-led virtual learning platform with dedicated social scientists and students. We aim at providing virtual guidance to the ones taking their first steps into the world of Social Science, either through formal education or because of their never-ending quest for learning. We believe in sharing with our readers the knowledge that we have gained, through simple transcription of social theories and their real-life application. We also believe in the power of knowledge in making the world a better place to thrive and survive.